Kevin

Okay, yesterday sucked. I got next to nothing done, and it looks like I’m not getting anything done today. In any case, it’s going to take me a few more days to get my story out there. But it’s really not my fault.

The evening before, Amy and I had one of those nights. She came over and we talked and shared a bottle of wine. I guess she’s made some good connections and her modeling career is starting to take off. She was in a pretty good mood.

We’re still on a no-strings-attached basis and honestly, she made the first moves, but with a girl this good looking, it doesn’t take much to get my engine revving. She taught me a few moves that I will definitely be using in future stories. She stayed the night, and yesterday morning was just as fantastic.

(Note to self: Buy more condoms)

Anyway, she left about eleven, to get ready for an afternoon shoot, and I settled down in front of my computer to get some work done.

It wasn’t a half hour later, a loud thumping on her door across the hall disturbed my writing.

“Amy, I know you’re in there babe. Open up.” The thick, masculine voice was just slightly slurred. Someone had been drinking before noon, and it wasn’t me.

“Go away, Kevin. Leave me alone.” Amy’s voice was strained. I wondered if this wasn’t the jerk that had hurt her.

“Open up Babe. I just wanna talk.” He pounded once again.

I stood and went to my front door to look through the peephole.

“No you don’t. You’ve been drinking. I can hear it in your voice. Go away!” There was a hint of fear in Amy’s voice.

The guy was big. Broad shoulders and a husky build. I couldn’t see his face, but his dishwater blond hair hung down to the middle of his back. He wore a leather jacket and black jeans.

“Do you want me to break this door down?” The guy shook his fist at the door, and started to size it up. It looked like he was getting ready to hit it with his shoulder.

“Go away, Kevin, or I’m calling the police. I mean it.”

I’d had enough. I yanked open my door to confront him.

“Hey! The lady said, go away!”

He turned toward me and I was a bit taken aback. This guy was classic, romance-cover, beefcake pumped. He wasn‘t wearing a shirt under the leather jacket, and I have to tell you, he was ripped. I’m no slouch, but this guy had to work out for a living. His dark eyes glowered as he spun to face me, and he bared a perfect set of ivory-white teeth as he growled at me. With his long hair, the guy had the whole Fabio thing going for him, and I guessed he was a model, like Amy.

Quite frankly, if I hadn’t hated his guts at that moment, I would have asked him to pose for a cover of a book. Hell, I’d write the story around him, it would probably sell like crazy with him on the cover.

“Stay out of this, idiot, or someone is gonna get hurt.”

Well, he was right about that, but I wasn’t backing down. I folded my arms and stood my ground. “You leaving, or what?”

He started to throw a punch, but I ducked under it, tackling him around the waist and taking him to the hallway floor. He thumped me a couple of times on the back, and rung my bell once with a good shot to my left ear, but I stayed in close, so he couldn’t use the advantage of his larger size and longer reach.

We scuffled for a while, I don’t really know how long. When you’re in the middle of something like that, time kind of suspends. Suddenly some big hands are pulling me off him.

“Break it up!” The hallway is full of uniforms.

I raise my hands and back away, but Kevin takes another poke at me. The cops wrestle him to the ground and cuff him.

Anyway, we spend most of the rest of the day down at the police station. They get my statement and release me, but I stay because Amy looks like hell. There’re cops and lawyers taking to her, something about a restraining order, and I can tell she needs a friend. I put my arm around her and she snuggles in. “I’m so sorry.”

I give her a hug. “I’m just glad I was there.”

Well, by the time we get back to my place, we definitely need more wine. She opens up about this guy, and basically he’s just a jerk. He’d been playing with her affections, cheating on her, and just overall treating her badly. When she broke it off, he went a bit ballistic. It’s no wonder Amy’s not looking for another relationship right now.

She stayed the night, but nothing really happened. It’s not the type of event that leads to epic sex. Still, we snuggled all night, and that feels pretty good sometimes, too.

She just left, and I don’t really feel like working today, so I figure I’ll just update my blog. I’m a little sore, and have some wonderful purpling bruises. It’s a good day to curl up with a good book, and a bottle of wine.

Leave a Reply

